Camera online

How to Hide Your “Online” Status on WhatsApp: Step-by-Step Guide for iOS and Android Users

WhatsApp has finally rolled out the update that allows you to hide your active status on the instant messaging platform. Many times we want to check our messages on WhatsApp without alerting contacts of our online activity or appearing as active on the app and this Meta-owned platform update solves that problem.

Although the social network has already rolled out an update to hide your “last seen” – the timestamp revealing the last time you were active on the app – of certain contacts, it did not allow users to WhatsApp to hide their “online” status on the platform.

The “Online” status on WhatsApp appears just below the person’s chat contact name the moment they open the instant messaging app. As long as you’re on WhatsApp, even if you’re just scrolling, you appear as “Online” to your contacts.

But thanks to WhatsApp’s latest update, that’s about to change and people can no longer track your online presence on the platform, as users now have the option to hide their online status from everyone. or select contacts.

On WhatsApp, the tech company by default allows any user to see your last seen and online status until it is manually changed.

Back to recommendation stories



How to Hide Your Online Status on WhatsApp

  • For Android users, open your WhatsApp, then click Tap More options and select Settings
  • Now click on Privacy. You will get options on Last Seen & Online. Click on it and choose the preferred option.
  • For iOS users, open WhatsApp then click on the settings options below on the right side of your screen.
  • Tap Account, then select Privacy. You will also see the similar Last Seen and Online option.
  • Tap it and select any option from: Everyone, My Contacts, My Contacts Except…, and Nobody.

What all you can change Who can:

  • See your last seen and online
  • See your profile picture
  • See your information About
  • See your status updates
  • View read receipts
  • Add yourself to groups

However, it is important to note that if you do not share your last seen or online, you will not be able to see the last seen or online of other users. People online in a thread with you can see when you type.

If you disable “Read receipts”, you will not be able to see read receipts from other users. But read receipts are still sent for group chats. If a contact has read receipts turned off, you won’t be able to see if they’ve viewed your status updates.

Meanwhile, WhatsApp now allows users to connect with up to 32 people simultaneously in voice and video calls, transfer up to 2GB of files, and add up to 5,000 members in a community.

The messaging platform will also gradually increase the group size to 1,024 users from the current limit of 512.